Little Sweet Pea

Dear Tiny Baby in my Belly,

I have known about you for a little more than a week but you are already loved. I worry constantly that something will go wrong and I will lose you. It doesn’t matter if you are only the size of a pea (and might possibly have a tail); you are still my baby and I’m praying for you to grow big (not TOO big, mind you – let’s be reasonable) and strong so that I may meet you in April. I know that even though you are only a few weeks old, your little heart is developing and in a few weeks I will be able to hear it beating. I hope to be the best mother to you and I think that I had a very good example to follow. She’s your Grandmom and she taught me all I need to know about being a mommy.

Now, I figure I should tell you how things are going so far. Pregnancy is not an easy thing. You’re just 6 weeks old and you’re already wearing me out! I can honestly say I don’t think I’ve ever been so tired. Finding out I was pregnant coincided with starting a new schedule at work going in at 6am. So it’s hard to tell how much of being tired is from waking up at oh-dark-thirty and how much is from being an incubator. You are also wreaking havoc on my digestive system. I don’t have morning sickness (as of yet) and I don’t have any food aversions (again, yet), but frequently after I eat I get tummy aches and feel terrible. It doesn’t seem to stop me from eating though. You seem to have a fondness for cinnamon as I started craving that a few days before I found out I was pregnant.

I can’t wait until I can hear your heartbeat and see you with my own eyes. I don’t feel pregnant for the most part so it will help so much to know for sure that you’re there. Your grandparents, aunts, and uncles don’t know yet so I also look forward to telling everyone. They have been waiting for you too, you see. You have 2 great-grandparents, 4 grandparents, 3 aunts, 2 uncles, and 2 cousins. I can’t wait to tell them about you.

Well, little one, we have 6 weeks down and 34 more to go! I will keep thanking God for you and praying for you to continue to grow and be safe. I can’t wait to see you!

 

Leave a Reply

