Things That Go Bump in My Belly

(Written over a week ago)
So I think I’m finally feeling little man kick. I’m 20w 2d and this past Sunday night I was laying on my stomach trying to sleep (trying is the operative word; I don’t always sleep well, especially if I know I have to get up early) and felt a few “pops” inside. Today as I’m relaxing on the couch, I have felt a few more but in a different spot. So I’m not sure if he’s what I’m feeling or not. The placenta is on my belly side so the doctor said that could hinder me feeling little man until later. But it’s not a sensation that is familiar to me so I’m
assuming he’s finally making himself known.

(Back to today)
Almost 10 days later I’m sure it’s him I’m feeling kick. It’s such a strange feeling and it often takes me by surprise. I never felt the fluttery feeling people describe; just the pops and bumps. Sometimes it almost gives me the “stomach drop” sensation like you get on roller coasters. I don’t really know how to describe it.

So far I’ve gained 10lbs. At 21w 5d I don’t think that’s so bad. I am trying to eat as well as I can, but considering this kid has a penchant for pasta and potatoes I’m not getting as many veggies as I should be. Recently though I’ve started craving chocolate milk so I have at least a glass of that a day. I’m sure that counts for something. That’s really the main craving as of right now. My mother-in-law is here for Christmas and made us a batch (ok, two) of potato soup and I’m having difficulty not eating that every meal. I really should have known this kid was a boy simply for his food choices. Meat, potatoes, pasta… no sweets or veggies. Definitely a boy.

Leave a Reply

