The Stuff Dreams are Made of

I don’t often dream. I assume it’s because I fall into bed exhausted at night and there just isn’t enough brain function left to do so. When I do dream though, it’s usually in the second (or third or fourth) part of our night after Baby G wakes up, eats, and goes back to bed. Those dreams are generally bizarre. They tend to have some kind of overall theme and often are filled with anxiety or some kind of stress (late for a flight and haven’t started packing yet is a common one). Also they are often influenced by what’s going on in my life.

Last night’s (this morning’s?) dream was true to form. The underlying “theme” was I was late for my first day back to work. I don’t remember a lot of the first part of the dream but somewhere in the middle it got awfully strange as we were running away from some assassin-bad-guys or something to that affect. At some point there was a big machine chasing us and we were scaling what I’m pretty sure was racking. Like The Big Orange Box has. But apparently we weren’t in The Big Orange Box because I was still late for work. Must have been some other warehouse. But, *whew,* we made it through.

This is where I love how my mind works. It’s apparent where my priorites lie. After we made it past the bad guys we happened on a candy aisle (very convenient in a warehouse) and stopped to stock up. I guess we felt safe enough at that point to satisfy the munchies that crept up from running for our lives.

So, like most of my dreams, it then transitioned into something else and I ended up in a mall on the other side of town where I had to run through the place to get to work. But I ended up at home instead of at work and had to get ready. I think by this point I was already hours late but I just couldn’t seem to get myself out of the house. I’m pretty sure by the time I woke up I hadn’t made it to work yet.

There ya go. An insight into the inner workings of my mind. I think we’ve learned a few things here. I’m obviously apprehensive about going back to work (read: dreading like the plague), I get too involved in whatever I’m reading (I’m rereading Eldest right now so I’m assuming that’s where the bad guy chasing stuff came into play), and I always have time for candy. Oh, yeah, and I’m always late.

Leave a Reply

