If you don’t have something nice to say…

Say it anyway! Thinking before you speak is such an antiquated idea! Okay, maybe it’s not so much the thinking before you speak as much as thinking things THROUGH before you speak.

Ok so I’ve already told you about the “Are they sure it’s not twins” comment. I’m sure there were other less than thought out comments made while I was pregnant but I thankfully have not retained them. But since Baby G came home it seems people are allowing their inner monologues to be not so inner.

A week or so ago we had gone to Wally World and I was wearing Baby G in the Moby Wrap. People often comment on his size and assume he’s a newborn. I generally don’t explain that he was a preemie right off the bat because it seems like too much info too fast. I guess I also find it funny to watch their faces as they try to figure out the age vs. weight thing.

Side note. I think it’s funny how everyone asks the same questions. How old is your baby? How much does he weigh? It’s universal. Everyone does it. I’m not sure when they stop asking the weight question. At what point does it not matter how much the baby weighs?

Back to Wally World. There were two ladies – a mom and daughter – who exclaimed over the sweet tiny baby. So of course they asked how old he was. 10 weeks. Oh my gosh he’s so tiny! How much does he weigh? 7lbs 8oz. *crickets chirping* You could see the gears turning as they tried to fit these two pieces of information together. I never let them suffer too long for fear of their heads exploding because you know they want to ask so badly why he’s so small. So I volunteer that he was a preemie and he was born 9 weeks early and weighed 3lbs 6oz. The daughter had just had a baby who was 9+ lbs. Here’s the fun part. The mom then states that I am so lucky to have had such a tiny baby. *more crickets*

Seriously?? Oh, yes, I’m so glad I was spared a horrible birth experience with a ginormous baby by having an emergency C-section 9 weeks early. *whew* Dodged a bullet! 5 1/2 weeks in the NICU… 9lb natural birth. Oh yeah. Choice is totally clear. Good thing I made the right one.

The second comment was by an older lady yesterday at the grocery store. I had walked in with him in his carseat and she offered me her cart. Naturally she commented on his size and how cute he is (because, my dear friends, he’s adorable) and asked his age. 11 weeks. Her comment: “He’s going to be so short when he grows up!” *face palm* So then I go on to explain he was a preemie, blah blah blah, etc etc.

People don’t think before they speak. While these comments (unlike the twins one) don’t bother me – in fact I think they’re funny – it still amazes me what people will say.

Leave a Reply

