Poop-a-geddon 2012

So. Much. Poop.

I’m sorry. I know you have no idea what I’m talking about. Well, I’m sure you got the poop part. But what exactly, you ask, is poop-a-geddon??

I will back up a little.

Over the last month or so Baby G has gone from pooping in EVERY diaper to going a day or two without pooping. Apparently this is pretty normal for breastfed babies. Normal it may be, but fun it is not. It generally results in a blowout (yay…) which means an outfit change and some Blue Dawn (more on that later).

There have been several poop scares… several incidences that we THOUGHT were the end of the world as we know it. But we were wrong. Oh, so wrong. The first poop-a-geddon scare was about a little over a month ago and was so bad that I decided to do Baby G’s bath in the middle of the day. Pulling his onesie off resulted in poopy hair among other body parts. It was pretty bad. Then there was the bath that Baby G pooped so much it it turned the water yellow. It was pretty gross. But Sunday, dear friends… Sunday had the most poop I’ve ever seen.

Sunday marked the longest stretch that Baby G has gone without pooping. We’re pretty sure it had been at least 4 days. Can you imagine going 4 days without pooping? Ok, well I have been there and done that but that’s another story (thank you C-Section). I can tell you it’s no fun.

Sooooo Baby G had been super fussy all night so while we were getting dinner ready we put him in the jumper for a bit.

{Side note: He LOVES the jumper. It’s amazing and the most fun he could ever ever have. I think he loves the jumper just slightly less than he loves his baths.}

He started to fuss so Husband got him and sat down with him. A few minutes later I heard him shout and I look up to see…. POOP-A-GEDDON! There was poop everywhere. It was up the back of G’s onesie almost to his hair, oozing out through the fabric. It was on Husband’s shirt AND shorts. We stood there for a minute trying to figure out logistics of how we were going to clean this up. I carried him upstairs by holding him out under his armpits.  There was no other way to do it without smearing poop all over me. Somehow I managed to get a waterproof liner down onto the changing pad and got the diaper off. Husband ran his bathwater and I ended up giving up trying to clean him off and just went and held him up under the faucet. I rinsed and rinsed and rinsed until the very thick layer of pasty poop was off the fabric (and the baby) and peeled the offending garment up over his head.

Husband suggesting throwing the onesie away. Since I hate wasting clothing I pulled out my trusty Blue Dawn (which apparently works better on poop stains than other detergents) and scrubbed and soaped and rinsed until most of the poop was gone. I wasn’t overly confident of it being stain-free but was pleasantly surprised after the (impromptu) load of laundry (including Husband’s shirt and shorts) was done.

So now we are to Wednesday night and there has been no poop since Poop-a-geddon. I’m hoping that this last incident wasn’t just the first of many escalating poop explosions and that things will go back to normal. Really hoping. Really really hoping.

Leave a Reply

